

All-Party Parliamentary Group for Transport Safety

Minutes of AGM: Wednesday 22nd November 2023 at 16:00 – 17:00

Room N, Portcullis House

Draft for approval at next AGM

Attendees

Sir Peter Bottomley MP, Barry Sheerman MP, Ruth Cadbury MP, Fabian Hamilton MP, Rebecca Long Bailey MP, Adam Coffman (Secretariat- APPG Cycling & Walking), Dr Ian Greenwood.

Secretariat: Jamie Hassall (Executive Director - PACTS), Kumar Niketan (Advocacy Officer - PACTS), Mabyn Dueck (Administrator - PACTS)

In the Chair: Sir Peter Bottomley MP

1. Welcome

The chair welcomed Afzal Khan MP and Fabian Hamilton MP to the group. The APPG currently has 20 members and below is the updated list of members.

2. Election of the group's officers

Jamie Hassall briefed the group on the new rules; APPGs are now required to have only 4 officers and a minimum of 20 members. Ruth Cadbury MP stepped down as the Co-chair of the APPG for Transport Safety, she will continue to be a member. The chair extended his gratitude on behalf of the secretariat and all the members to Ruth for her active support to the group.

The APPG for Transport Safety elected the following officers in compliance with the new rules.

Chair and Registered Contact

• Sir Peter Bottomley MP (Conservative)

Co-Chairs

- Baroness Randerson (Liberal Democrat)
- Fabian Hamilton MP (Labour)
- Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb (Green Party)

3. Income and Expenditure Matters

The group received no income and incurred no expenses.



4. Appointment of the Secretariat

<u>The Parliamentary Advisory Council for Transport Safety (PACTS)</u> was requested to continue as the secretariat at no charge. This was agreed upon by PACTS.

5. The Politics of Road Death, Dr. Ian Greenwood

Dr. Ian Greenwood gave a presentation on the <u>politics of road death</u>, reporting on the lack of policy movement in road safety since 2003 and its lack of visibility as a policy problem. There was discussion on the challenges for MPs and road safety campaigners in helping bring known solutions to road safety issues (seatbelts, mobile phone usage, supporting young drivers) to the policy level. There was also discussion about the importance of the language used around road safety.

6. AOB

6.1. Jamie Hassall updated the group on the recent legislative developments following the King's speech and progress on the policy priorities adopted by the APPG.

Website: http://www.transportsafetyappg.org.uk/

Secretariat

Parliamentary Advisory Council for Transport Safety (PACTS)

Contact

Jamie Hassall, Executive Director, PACTS

jamie.hassall@pacts.org.uk 0207 222 7732



APPG Officers and Members		
Chair and Registered Contact	Sir Peter Bottomley	Conservative
Co-Chair	Baroness Randerson	Liberal Democrat
Co-Chair	Fabian Hamilton	Labour
Co-Chair	Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb	Green Party
Member	Lord Bradshaw	Liberal Democrat
Member	Ruth Cadbury	Labour
Member	Lord Robertson of Port Ellen	Labour
Member	Tony Lloyd	Labour
Member	Barry Sheerman	Labour
Member	Lilian Greenwood	Labour
Member	Matt Rodda	Labour
Member	Judith Cummins	Labour
Member	Christina Rees	Independent
Member	Afzal Khan	Labour
Member	Jessica Morden	Labour
Member	Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe	Labour
Member	Lord Bates	Conservative
Member	Lord Young of Cookham	Conservative
Member	Baroness McIntosh of Pickering	Conservative
Member	Rebecca Long Bailey	Labour